top of page
Search
  • sdelahun

Spring Showers Bring Foragers

Updated: Dec 10, 2021

Week of 3/28/21 - 4/4/21

Since it has been rainy and cold this week, I was not able to go out and forage. I am still going to make the most of it and research some plants I could come across and forage, so I'm better prepared next time I'm able to.

Watercress is in the same family as kale, cabbage, broccoli, arugula, and mustard. It is said to have a spicy and peppery flavor. Not only is it said to be delicious, but It's also nutrient-rich! Watercress has more vitamin C than orange juice and more iron than spinach. Because of its vitamin C content, it has been known to treat scurvy. It makes sense, but I didn't even think foods other than fruit could treat scurvy, which shows how much I know! Watercress can be found all over the United States and it is known to be around all year! If the weather is too cold it will probably not be able to harvest in winter. Because it grows near and in water, do not eat it raw unless you know the water is clean. Which may mean testing it! Many parasites and toxins can live in and on the watercress.



Cattails are also great for foraging! I had no idea until I sat down for research for this post! I saw them everywhere growing up in Utah. I haven't seen any in Georgia yet. The shoots, before they mature, can be consumed. They look like Irises when they are young so be careful! Irises are toxic and inedible. Cattail shoots however are supposed to taste like cucumber and are edible! Cattails are a bioaccumulator, this means that they will absorb toxic chemicals and make the plant inedible. Do not eat cattails from places that could be sprayed with pesticides or other chemicals. A wild undisturbed area will be the best place to forage cattails. Once they mature, the yellow pollen on cattails are edible and are used as a flour substitute! I have seen recipes online to sauté the cattail shoots or slice them raw and use them in salads! Below is a recipe for Pickled Cattail Shoots


I think it is important to know what plants around you are edible and inedible. most of us are very fortunate this day in age to have access to grocery stores and the means to buy ourselves food. However, you never know when you will be in a situation where you may need alternative ways to get food.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page