top of page
Search
  • sdelahun

Witches Butter and Oysters

Updated: Dec 10, 2021

Walking in my neighborhood this week after the rain I found and photographed a few fungi. I even found an edible one, Pleurotus ostreatus. The common name is Oyster mushroom, and these are ones people specifically look for to eat. I could tell it was an Oyster mushroom because of the gills, and the spore print is white, which you can see on the pictures below from the mushroom sporing on itself.


I also found Tremella mesenterica or Witches Butter. It is a jelly fungus with a very vibrant orange-yellow color. It's most commonly found on dead or broken-off branches, which makes sense since I found it on a twig on the forest floor. They grow on softwood trees and year-round. Witches Butter mushrooms are medicinal, potentially able to treat respiratory conditions, and have anti-tumor abilities. I also found some Turkey Tails growing on a log.


I wasn't able to identify any more fungi on my walk but I still hope you enjoy the pictures!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page