top of page
Search
  • sdelahun

Wood Ears in Woodstock

Updated: Dec 10, 2021


Wood Ear

For the week of 1/4/21-1/30/21, I went to Woodstock in North Georgia, to Old Rope Mill Park. The park has lots of trails, and lots of trees which mean many mushrooms, and have been able to identify some of them! I did not take any mushroom spore to make any spore prints today. One of the ones I found and identified is the Wood Ear found to the left. Its scientific name is Auricularia auricula-judae and can be found on both living and dead trees. After some research, I found that Wood Ears are edible, and they are found in some Chinese soups. I don't feel brave enough to eat any mushrooms found yet. I found some I was hoping were Oyster mushrooms, which are edible. Their underside was pored instead of gilled and they didn't have the correct coloring. I can say for certain they were not oysters, and they may have been fake turkey tails.


Below are pictures I found and took of mushrooms on the same trail, but I have not identified them yet. I posted about it on a mushroom group on Facebook but got a very mixed bag of answers. I hope you can still enjoy the pictures I took!


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page